SWATARA TOWNSHIP BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS REORGANIZATION MEETING JANUARY 6, 2020

- The Reorganization Meeting of the Swatara Board of Commissioners was called to order by Solicitor Scott Wyland at 6:59 p.m. on Monday, January 6, 2020, Township Administration Building, 599 Eisenhower Blvd., Swatara, PA 17111.
- 2. <u>Pledge of Allegiance</u> was led by Girl Scout Troup 10734.
- 3. <u>Invocation</u> was delivered by Pastor Gary Lathrop.
- 4. <u>Purpose of the Meeting</u>: To welcome the newly elected Commissioners and other Officials. Also, there will be an election of officers.
- 5. <u>Recognition of Dignitaries</u>: Attendees included Dauphin County Commissioner Mike Pries, State Representative Sue Helm, Former Swatara Township Commissioners Steve Chiavetta, Walter Schaffhauser, Sylvia Walters and Paul Johnson. Also in attendance was District Justice Michael J. Smith.
- 6. Introduction of District Justice Michael J. Smith and Commissioners Elect Richard Bouder, Shaela Ellis and Jeffrey W. Varner.
- 7. District Justice Smith swore in newly elected Commissioners Bouder, Ellis and Bouder.
- 8. <u>Election of Officers</u>:
 - A. Commissioner Bouder made a motion to nominate Commissioner Connolly for Board President, seconded by Commissioner Ellis. There were no other nominations. Motion carried with Commissioners Zubeck and Varner voting no.
 - B. Commissioner Ellis made a motion to nominate Commissioner Bouder for Board Vice President, seconded by Commissioner Bouder. Motion carried with Commissioners Varner and Zubeck voting no.
- 9. <u>Seating of Commissioners</u>: All Commissioners will retain their current chair except for Commissioner Ellis. Since she is filling the vacancy left by Commissioner Troxell she will be assigned to his chair.
- 10. <u>Roll Call</u>: Commissioners Bouder, Connolly, Ellis, Varner and Zubeck were present. Also present: Township Manager Jim Fosselman, Assistant Manager Kim Kaufman, Solicitor Scott Wyland, John

SWATARA TOWNSHIP BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS REORGANIZATION MEETING JANUARY 6, 2020

Mizerak of Dawood Engineering, Director of Fire and Emergency Services Michael Ibberson, Highway Supervisor Todd Webb, Public Safety Director Darrell Reider and Secretary Mary Kepp.

11. <u>Appointments</u>:

- A. Township Secretary: Commissioner nominated Mary Kepp as Township Secretary. The nomination was unanimously approved.
- B. Township Treasurer: Commissioner Conolly nominated James Fosselman as Treasurer. The nomination was unanimously approved.
- C. Township Solicitor: Commissioner Bouder nominated Scott Wyland as Township Solicitor. The nomination was unanimously approved.
- D. Township Engineer: Commissioner Connolly nominated Dawood Engineers as Township Engineer. The nomination was unanimously approved.
- E. Sergeant-At-Arms: Commissioner Connolly nominated Darrell Reider as Sergeant-at-Arms. The nomination was unanimously approved.

12. <u>District Justice Swore in other Township Officials</u> Township Secretary, Mary Kepp Township Solicitor, Scott Wyland

- 13. <u>Rules of Order</u> Roberts Rules of Order: 11 Edition. Commissioner Connolly made a motion to abide by the aforementioned Rules of Order; Seconded by Commissioner Varner. Motion carried unanimously.
- 14. <u>Committee Assignments</u>: Commissioner were assigned to the following committees: Commissioner Varner: Planning and Codes Committee, Senior Citizen Committee Commissioner Zubeck: Communications Committee, Grants Committee Commissioner Ellis: Highway Committee and Stormwater Committee Commissioner Bouder: Personnel Committee and Recreation Committee Commissioner Connolly: Public Safety Committee and Budget and Finance Committee
- 15. <u>Any Additional Business</u>: Nothing at this time
- 16. <u>Public Comment</u>:

<u>Michael Tuckey, 5875 Gensemer Lane</u>: He was happy to see so many residents attend tonight's meeting and hope they all come back to the next meeting on Wednesday, January 8, 2020 and the warehouse continuance meeting on January 15, 2020.

SWATARA TOWNSHIP BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS REORGANIZATION MEETING **JANUARY 6, 2020**

Binay Lieutel, 805 Samoset Drive: Congratulated all the newly elected commissioners and is interested in seeing more interaction with the Bhutanese/Nepali Community and local government.

17. Commissioners Comments:

Commissioner Varner: Thanked the audience members for coming to tonight's meeting. He is looking forward to serving the Township residents for the next four years. He also congratulated the other two Commissioners appointed tonight.

Commissioner Zubeck: Congratulated the new board members and looks forward to working with them.

Commissioner Ellis: Thanked her friends and family for their efforts in helping her achieve this goal. Thanked her father, Commissioner Connolly, for everything he's done for her during her life. She looks forward to working with the other Commissioners.

Commissioner Bouder: Acknowledged the family members of the late Anthony Spagnolo in attendance. He also thanked his family for all they did during his campaigning including his wife, sons, daughter and grandchildren.

Commissioner Connolly: Thanked the three Commissioners that were appointed tonight. Those Commissioners will serve a four year term. Commissioners Connolly and Zubeck have 2 years remaining on their term. We have excellent Department Heads in the Township. He is proud of the position the Township is in financially and the direction they are heading.

- Benediction: Delivered by Reverend R. Mim Harvey. 18.
- Commissioner Connolly announced a social gathering will be held downstairs immediately following 19. the meeting and encouraged all to attend.
- 20. Adjournment: The Reorganization Meeting was adjourned 7:35 pm.

Mary Kepp, Township Secretary